The Belding H. Scribner Award

The Belding H. Scriber Award is presented annually to one or more individuals who have made outstanding contributions that have a direct impact on the care of patients with renal disorders or have substantially changed the clinical practice of nephrology. Established in 1995, this award honors the physician who developed the arteriovenous shunt that first made long term hemodialysis for chronic renal failure possible.

Dr. Scribner spent his entire faculty career at the University of Washington in Seattle where he was Head of the Division of Nephrology in the Department of Medicine from 1958 to 1982. He and his co-workers made numerous contributions to the care of patients with end-stage renal disease, including establishing the world's first out-of-hospital dialysis unit, developing a home hemodialysis program, improving techniques and equipment for hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis, and studying the adequacy and complications of chronic renal disease treated by dialysis. Dr. Scribner's contributions had an enormous effect in transforming nephrology into a major subspecialty of internal medicine.

Dr. Scribner and colleagues also played a major role in persuading Congress to fund the Medicare ESRD Program. His scientific contributions, his training of physicians interested in dialysis, his persistence in overcoming difficulties, his attention to ethical concerns, and his absolute commitment to the care of patients played major roles in the development of end stage renal disease care as it is today. These numerous accomplishments stand as an outstanding example of a dedicated physician who made major contributions to the care of patients with kidney disease.

Award Winners

  • 2013 Andrew S. Levey MD
  • 2012 Nathan W. Levin, MD
  • 2011 Neil R. Powe, MD, FASN
  • 2010 Hans-Henrik Parving, MD, DMSc
  • 2009 James E. Cimino, MD
  • 2008 Marshall D. Lindheimer
  • 2007 Edmund Lewis
  • 2006 Joel Kopple
  • 2005 William M. Bennett
  • 2004 Philip J. Held, Friedrich K. Port, and Robert A. Wolfe
  • 2003 Jack W. Coburn and Jacob Lemann
  • 2002 Curtis Morris and Anthony Sebastian
  • 2001 Allen Alfrey
  • 2000 Frederic Coe and Charles Pak
  • 1999 Eduardo Slatopolsky
  • 1998 Dimitrius Oreopolous
  • 1997 Karl D. Nolph
  • 1996 Frank Gotch
  • 1995 Jack W. Moncrief and Robert P. Popovich