Young Investigator Award Selection Committee


  • Mark D. Okusa, MD, FASN (2017)


  • Alfred K. Cheung, MD (2016)
  • Alicia Neu, MD (2018)
  • Pablo A. Ortiz, PhD (2016)
  • Janos Peti-Peterdi, MD, PhD (2016)
  • Edward Y. Skolnik, MD (2017)
  • Alda Tufro, MD, PhD (2017)
  • Terry J. Watnick, MD (2018)

Staff Liaison


The committee reviews nominations for the Young Investigator Award and presents the top-ranked candidate to the ASN Council for approval.


The Young Investigator Award Selection Committee is chaired by a Council member and includes ASN members, as well as the representative from the American Heart Association Council on the Kidney. In addition, the most recent recipient of the Young Investigator Award serves a one-year term on the committee.


Members serve staggered three-year terms. The previous award recipient serves a one-year term.