Grants & Funding

M. James Scherbenske Grant Recipients


Myles S. Wolf, MD
University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine
Role of FGF23 in mineral metabolism across the spectrum of chronic kidney disease


Victor L. Schuster, MD, FASN
Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University
Prostaglandin transporter PGT in cardiovascular disease

Stuart E. Dryer, PhD
University of Houston
Cellular physiology of podocytes


Melissa A. Cadnapaphornchai, MD
University of Colorado School of Medicine

Mary E. Choi, MD
Harvard Medical School, Brigham and Women's Hospital

Leonidas Tsiokas, PhD
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center


David H. Ellison, MD
Oregon Health and Science University

Alicia A. McDonough, PhD
University of Southern California School of Medicine

Jia L. Zhuo, MD, PhD
Henry Ford Hospital


Steven C. Borkan, MD
Boston University School of Medicine

Basil Hanss, PhD
Mount Sinai School of Medicine of New York University

Stewart H. Lecker, MD, PhD, FASN
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

He-Ping Ma, MD
University of Alabama School of Medicine

Hartmut H. Malluche, MD
University of Kentucky College of Medicine


Henry Sackin, PhD
Rosalind Franklin University

Mary Foster, MD
Duke University Medical Center and Durham VAMC




Elizabeth C. Bryda, PhD
University of Missouri

Mary E. Choi, MD
Harvard Medical School, Brigham and Women's Hospital


Daniel Biemesderfer, PhD
Yale University School of Medicine

Aniko Naray-Fejes-Toth, MD
Dartmouth Medical School

Sanja Sever, PhD
Massachusetts General Hospital


Anne M. Murray, MD, MSc
Chronic Diseases Research Group

Carlos H. Pedemonte, PhD
University of Houston

James Rice, MD
Scripps Health and the Scripps Research Institute


Peter Friedman, PhD
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Xiaonan Wang, MD
Emory University School of Medicine


Sunil Saxena, PhD
Stevens Institute of Technology

John H. Schwartz, MD
Boston Medical Center, Evans Biomedical Center

Robert H. Weiss, MD
University of California Davis

Norimoto Yanagawa, MD
University of California Los Angeles


Horacio Cantiello, DVM, PhD
Massachusetts General Hospital

Victoria F. Norwood, MD
University of Virginia Health System

Robert F. Spurney, MD


Mouhamed Awayda, MD
Tulane University School of Medicine

Jerrold S. Levine, MD
University of Illinois Medical Center

Brad Rovin, MD


Herbert T. Cohen, MD
Boston University Medical Center

Frank A. Gesek
Dartmouth Medical School

Harlan E. Ives, MD, PhD
University of California San Francisco

Raoul D. Nelson, MD, PhD
University of Utah Health Sciences Center

Nancy K. Wills, PhD
University of Texas Medical Branch


Peter A. Friedman, PhD
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Virginia Savin, MD
Froedtert Memorial Lutheran Hospital


Stephen Adler, MD
New York Medical College

Youhua Liu, PhD
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center