Education & Meetings

Lifelong Learning and Board Certification

ASN continues to support the priority physicians have always placed on lifelong learning and its role in improving patient care. For information on certifying boards and their requirements for participating in lifelong learning, please click here.

American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Maintenance of Certification (MOC)

ASN, the American College of Physicians, and other specialty societies raised concerns regarding whether the American Board of Internal Medicine’s (ABIM’s) Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program meets the needs of physicians and the patients they serve. In response to these concerns, Richard J. Baron, MD, ABIM President and Chief Executive Officer, announced changes to the ABIM MOC program. To read Dr. Baron’s open letter to ABIM diplomats, click here.

How ASN Helps Its Members Meet These Requirements

Medical Knowledge

Practice Assessment

2015 Note: Although “suspended” (not needed to fulfill MOC requirements for recertification for the next 2 years), MOC points will continue to be awarded for completed practice improvement modules.

More Continuing Medical Education Opportunities

Secure Examination

Updated and posted May 2015