ASN's Mission

To create a world without kidney diseases, the ASN Alliance for Kidney Health elevates care by educating and informing, driving breakthroughs and innovation, and advocating for policies that create transformative changes in kidney medicine throughout the world.

learn more

Contact ASN

1401 H St, NW, Ste 900, Washington, DC 20005


The Latest on X


Distinguished Clinical Service Award

Award Criteria

  • Recognizes individuals who combine the art of medicine with the skills demanded by the scientific body of knowledge in service to patients.
  • Exemplifies leadership and excellence in the practice of nephrology and whose time is spent primarily in the delivery of patient care.
  • Has initiated or been involved in volunteer programs or has provided volunteer service post-training.

ASN's Midcareer Awards recognize midcareer clinicians, educators, health professionals, and researchers.

Nominations open Monday, February 5, 2024. To nominate a candidate, complete the online application including submiting one letter of nomination and the nominee's curriculum vitae (CV) by Friday, March 8, 2024..

If you have any questions, please email ASN Operations Coordinator Molly Harrison at

  • ASN can only accept one nomination letter per candidate and these letters are limited to one nominator and two supporting nominators (included in the letter and not sent separately). All nominators must be current ASN members.
  • Current members of the Midcareer Award Selection Committee and ASN Council cannot sponsor or co-sponsor nominations.
  • To ensure current information for all the candidates, ASN will not consider nominations submitted in previous years. If you wish to renominate a candidate, please submit a new nomination letter and an updated CV.
  • ASN active, corresponding, and affiliate members are eligible for consideration for the society's awards.
  • ASN is committed to increasing diversity, inclusiveness, and equity – including career stage, ethnicity, and gender – at all levels of the society. As part of this commitment, ASN members are eligible to receive one lifetime achievement award and one midcareer award from the society during their careers.
  • ASN defines midcareer professionals as the following:

    • Between 10 and 20 years from completion of nephrology training or
    • Persons at the assistant or associate professor level (or equivalent rank in nonacademic institutions) or
    • With at least 10 years' experience after completing nephrology training.
    • A 12-month extension will be considered per childbirth during the 10 to 20-year timeframe. Women, men, and those who adopt are eligible for the extension. To be considered for an extension, please email
    • Active, Corresponding, and Affiliate members are eligible for these awards.

    Award Winners

    • 2023 Michael Heung, MD, MS, FASN
    • 2023 Eric L. Wallace, MD, FASN
    • 2022 Jocelyn S. Garland, MD
    • 2021 Maureen Brogan, MD, FASN
    • 2021 Michelle A. Hladunewich, MD, MS, FASN
    • 2020 Derek M. Fine, MD
    • 2020 Vandana Dua Niyyar, MD, FASN
    • 2019 Duvuru Geetha, MD, FASN
    • 2019 Jay L. Koyner, MD, FASN