ASN's Mission

To create a world without kidney diseases, the ASN Alliance for Kidney Health elevates care by educating and informing, driving breakthroughs and innovation, and advocating for policies that create transformative changes in kidney medicine throughout the world.

learn more

Contact ASN

1401 H St, NW, Ste 900, Washington, DC 20005


The Latest on X


Robert G. Narins Award

The Robert G. Narins Award honors individuals who have made substantial and meritorious contributions in education and teaching. This award is named for Robert G. Narins, who is also the first recipient of the award.

Dr. Narins' contributions to education and teaching started in 1967 when he was appointed to the faculty of the University of Pennsylvania. At Penn, and on the faculties of UCLA, Harvard, Temple and Henry Ford Hospital, he taught and mentored many residents and fellows. For eight years he chaired the ABIM's Nephrology Board and also worked on the ACP's Annual Program Committee. His contributions to education in the fields of fluid-electrolyte and acid-base physiology are prodigious and well-recognized.

Dr. Narins was also involved in the creation and planning of many ASN educational programs during Renal Week and throughout the year, including: Board Review Course and Update, one and two day programs at Renal Week, Renal WeekEnds, and NephSAP. He also was instrumental in the decision to develop the Clinical Journal of the American Society of Nephrology (CJASN), the establishment of the Fellow of the American Society of Nephrology (FASN) program, and negotiated the successful partnership agreements with HDCN and UpToDate. Dr. Narins has been at the forefront of collaborative efforts with the American College of Physicians to increase the exposure of nephrologists to relevant updates in Internal Medicine and internists to chronic kidney disease. Collaborative educational programs with societies in Europe and Asia have helped to spread education and teaching in nephrology on a global scale.

Award Winners

  • 2023 Michael Emmett, MD
  • 2022 Mark A. Perazella, MD, MS, FASN
  • 2021 Joanne M. Bargman, MD
  • 2020 Ashita J. Tolwani, MD, MS, MSc
  • 2019 Mitchell H. Rosner, MD, FASN
  • 2018 Nancy Day Adams, MD
  • 2017 Joel M. Topf, MD
  • 2015 Mark L. Zeidel, MD, MS, FASN
  • 2014 Stuart L. Linas, MD, FASN
  • 2013 Mark E. Rosenberg, MD, FASN
  • 2012 Donald E. Kohan, MD, PhD, FASN
  • 2011 Agnes B. Fogo, MD
  • 2010 Barry M. Brenner, MD
  • 2009 Burton D. Rose, MD
  • 2008 Mitchell L. Halperin, MD
  • 2007 Richard J. Glassock, MD, FASN
  • 2006 Robert G. Narins, MD, FASN