ASN's Mission

To create a world without kidney diseases, the ASN Alliance for Kidney Health elevates care by educating and informing, driving breakthroughs and innovation, and advocating for policies that create transformative changes in kidney medicine throughout the world.

learn more

Contact ASN

1401 H St, NW, Ste 900, Washington, DC 20005


The Latest on X


2011 Award Recipients

Robert G. Narins Award

Agnes B. Fogo, MD

The Robert G. Narins Award, which honors those who have made substantial contributions to education and teaching, will be presented to Agnes B. Fogo, MD, on Saturday, November 12, for her substantial accomplishments in the development and leadership of educational courses and resources.

Belding H. Scribner Award

Neil R. Powe, MD, FASN

Presented to those who have made outstanding contributions to the care of patients with renal disorders or have substantially changed the clinical practice of nephrology, the 2011 Belding H. Scribner Award will be presented to Neil R. Powe, MD, on Saturday, November 12. Dr. Powe has published a plethora of incisive studies that have explored the effectiveness of therapies in kidney disease patients, illuminated kidney disease disparities and their causes, and advanced kidney disease awareness and prevention.

John P. Peters Award

Jared J. Grantham, MD

Jared J. Grantham, MD, FACP, is this year's recipient of the John P. Peters Award, to be presented on Saturday, November 12. The award recognizes Dr. Grantham's outstanding contributions to improving the lives of patients with kidney disease and to furthering the understanding of the kidney in health and disease. His life work in nephrology falls into two major categories: defining the cellular mechanisms of salt and fluid transport across renal epithelial membranes and exploring the pathogenesis and treatment of polycystic kidney disease.

Homer W. Smith Award

Anita Aperia, MD, PhD

"To Serve and Protect: Classical and Novel Roles for Na, K-ATPase"
– Anita Aperia, MD, PhD, Karolinska University Hospital

Anita Aperia, MD, PhD, will receive the Homer H. Smith Award, which will be followed by delivery of the Homer H. Smith Address on Friday, November 11. The Smith Award recognizes individuals who contribute to our basic understanding of how the kidneys function in health and disease, and Dr. Aperia's discoveries concerning the sodium pump have greatly advanced this knowledge.

Donald W. Seldin Young Investigator Award

Katalin Susztak, MD, PhD

"Kidney Fibrosis: Where Kidney Repair Went Awry"
– Katalin Susztak, MD, PhD, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

The Young Investigator Award is presented annually to an individual with an outstanding record of achievement and creativity in basic or patient-oriented research related to the functions and diseases of the kidney. It will be presented to Katalin Susztak, MD, PhD, for her groundbreaking research on the mechanisms of progressive chronic kidney disease.