ASN's Mission

To create a world without kidney diseases, the ASN Alliance for Kidney Health elevates care by educating and informing, driving breakthroughs and innovation, and advocating for policies that create transformative changes in kidney medicine throughout the world.

learn more

Contact ASN

1401 H St, NW, Ste 900, Washington, DC 20005


The Latest on X


John P. Peters Award

The John P. Peters Award recognizes individuals who have made substantial research contributions to the discipline of nephrology and have sustained achievements in one or more domains of academic medicine including clinical care, education and leadership. Established in 1983, this annual award is named for one of the fathers of the discipline of nephrology.

Dr. Peters spent his entire faculty career at Yale University where he was chief of the Metabolic Division in the Department of Medicine from 1922-1955. Building on the principles of his mentor, Donald Van Slyke, Dr. Peters transformed clinical chemistry from a discipline of qualitative impressions to one of precise quantitative measurements. These advances changed the nature of measurements of body fluids into a vital part of the patient examination, capable of great explanatory power. He advanced the view that disease was a quantitative abnormality of normal physiological processes; and that by understanding disease, one could gain deeper understanding of normal processes.

His enduring scientific contributions paralleled his intense commitment to the care of the sick and a fervent mission to ensure that the physician was an advocate for the patient. These many qualities stand as a lofty monument to the art and science of nephrology.

Award Winners

  • 2023 Katherine R. Tuttle, MD, FASN
  • 2022 Sharon Anderson, MD, FASN
  • 2021 Donald E. Wesson, MD, FASN, MBA
  • 2020 Ravi I. Thadhani, MD, MPH
  • 2019 Vicente E. Torres, MD, PhD
  • 2018 William Griffith Couser, MD, FASN
  • 2017 Ronald Falk, MD, FASN
  • 2015 Roger C. Wiggins, MBChB
  • 2014 Josephine P. Briggs, MD
  • 2013 David J. Salant, MBChB, MD
  • 2012 Thomas D. DuBose, Jr., MD, FASN
  • 2011 Jared J. Grantham, MD
  • 2010 Roland C. Blantz, MD, FASN
  • 2009 William E. Mitch, III, MD, FASN
  • 2008 Robert Jay Alpern, MD
  • 2007 Giuseppe Remuzzi, MD
  • 2006 Gerhard H. Giebisch, MD
  • 2005 Eric G. Neilson, MD, FASN
  • 2004 Charles B. Carpenter, MD
  • 2003 Eberhard Ritz, MD
  • 2002 Alfred F. Michael, MD
  • 2001 C. Craig Tisher, MD
  • 2000 Barry M. Brenner, MD
  • 1999 Ramzi S. Cotran, MD
  • 1998 Saulo Klahr, MD
  • 1997 Robert W. Schrier, MD
  • 1996 Robert L. Vernier, MD
  • 1996 Clark D. West, MD
  • 1995 Charles R. Kleeman, MD
  • 1994 Willem J. Kolff, MD
  • 1993 Robert H. Heptinstall, MD
  • 1993 Priscilla Kincaid-Smith, MBChB, MD
  • 1992 Arnold S. Relman, MD
  • 1992 William B. Schwartz, MD
  • 1991 Neal S. Bricker, MD
  • 1991 Roscoe R. Robinson, MD
  • 1990 John H. Laragh, MD
  • 1990 Louis Tobian, MD
  • 1989 George E. Schreiner, MD, PhD
  • 1988 Henry J. M. Barnett, MD
  • 1988 RenĂ©e Habib, MD
  • 1987 Jacob Churg, MD
  • 1987 Conrad L. Pirani, MD
  • 1986 Belding H. Scribner, MD
  • 1985 Franklin H. Epstein, MD
  • 1984 Jean Hamburger, MD
  • 1984 John P. Merrill, MD
  • 1983 Donald W. Seldin, MD, FASN