ASN's Mission

To create a world without kidney diseases, the ASN Alliance for Kidney Health elevates care by educating and informing, driving breakthroughs and innovation, and advocating for policies that create transformative changes in kidney medicine throughout the world.

learn more

Contact ASN

1401 H St, NW, Ste 900, Washington, DC 20005


The Latest on X


President's Medal

ASN awards the ASN President's Medal to individuals who have helped advance ASN's mission to "lead the fight against kidney disease by educating health professionals, sharing new knowledge, advancing research, and advocating the highest quality care for patients."

The medal also recognizes individuals who have made contributions, broadly defined, to the kidney community, and who are unlikely to be eligible for ASN's other five awards. As a result, patients, members of Congress, and other advocates have received the ASN President's Medal in the past.

In considering candidates for the president's medal, ASN considers the society's strategic goal of "increasing diversity—including age and experience, ethnicity, and gender—at all levels of the society."

Award Winners

  • 2023 Ed Kashi
  • 2022 Patrick O. Gee, Sr., PhD
  • 2022 Glenda V. Roberts
  • 2022 David Rush
  • 2020 Gisela Deuter, MSA
  • 2020 Priti R. Patel, MD, MPH
  • 2019 Department of Health and Human Services
  • 2018 Griffin P. Rodgers, MD
  • 2017 Paul T. Conway
  • 2017 Richard A. Knight, MBA
  • 2015 George Lopez
  • 2014 Tom Marino
  • 2014 Jim McDermott, MD
  • 2013 Lori Hartwell
  • 2012 Dolph Chianchiano
  • 2007 Karen L. Campbell, PhD
  • 1994 Eric G. Neilson, MD, FASN