ASN's Mission

To create a world without kidney diseases, the ASN Alliance for Kidney Health elevates care by educating and informing, driving breakthroughs and innovation, and advocating for policies that create transformative changes in kidney medicine throughout the world.

learn more

Contact ASN

1401 H St, NW, Ste 900, Washington, DC 20005


The Latest on Twitter

About ASN

Deidra C. Crews, MD, MS, FASN, President-Elect

ASN Biography

Deidra C. Crews, MD, ScM, FASN, is Professor of Medicine at Johns Hopkins University (JHU) School of Medicine, where she also serves as Associate Director for Faculty Development in the Division of Nephrology as well as Deputy Director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Health Equity.

Dr. Crews studied medicine at Saint Louis University School of Medicine in Missouri and completed both her residency in internal medicine and fellowship in nephrology at Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore. She also earned an MS in clinical epidemiology from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Dr. Crews's research interests span many issues in health equity, exploring the intersection of clinical practice and public policy. These interests include the burden of kidney disease among socially disadvantaged populations; addressing social and behavioral risk factors for kidney disease and hypertension, such as food insecurity and unhealthy dietary patterns; and optimizing care processes for people living with kidney failure. Her work has earned her the Johns Hopkins President's Frontier Award (2018), the W. Lester Henry Award for Diversity and Access to Care from American College of Physicians (2019), and the ASN Distinguished Leader Award (2019).

Dr. Crews has served ASN and the kidney community extensively. Among her many appointments, she was a member of the NKF-ASN Task Force on Reassessing the Inclusion of Race in Diagnosing Kidney Diseases, a member of the Kidney Week Education Committee (which she co-chaired in 2021), and a member of the Continuous Professional Development Committee. She was previously a member of the Chronic Kidney Disease Comprehensive Care Model Task Force and chair of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee.