ASN's Mission

To create a world without kidney diseases, the ASN Alliance for Kidney Health elevates care by educating and informing, driving breakthroughs and innovation, and advocating for policies that create transformative changes in kidney medicine throughout the world.

learn more

Contact ASN

1401 H St, NW, Ste 900, Washington, DC 20005


The Latest on Twitter

About ASN

Andrew S. Levey, MD, BRCU Faculty

ASN Biography
Dr. Levey is Professor of Medicine and Dr. Gerald J. and Dorothy R. Friedman Professor Emeritus at Tufts University School of Medicine and Chief Emeritus of the William B. Schwartz Division of Nephrology at Tufts Medical Center. Dr. Levey?s research interests include measurement and estimation of kidney function, epidemiology and clinical trials in chronic kidney disease (CKD). For more than 20 years, he has been at the forefront of the development of equations to estimate glomerular filtration rate (GFR) from serum creatinine, cystatin C and novel filtration markers using large databases, including the widely-used Modification of Diet in Renal Disease (MDRD) Study and Chronic Kidney Disease Epidemiology Collaboration (CKD-EPI) equations. He leads CKD-EPI and is a founding member of the Chronic Kidney Disease Prognosis Consortium (CKD-PC). The use of GFR estimating equations to estimate kidney function, inform prognosis, and assess efficacy in clinical trials has transformed research, clinical practice, and public health in CKD. Dr. Levey is a widely recognized authority on clinical practice guidelines in CKD and has contributed to guideline development, implementation, quality improvement and public policy in this area. He has trained a large cadre of clinical researchers in nephrology, and led the Division?s NIDDK-supported training grant (T32) in clinical trials, epidemiology and outcomes research from 1999-2018. He was Editor-in-Chief of the American Journal of Kidney Diseases from 2007-2016. He received the Distinguished Faculty Award in 2004 and the Zucker Family Prize for Research in 2019 from TUSM and the Distinguished Alumnus Award from Boston University School of Medicine in 2013. The National Kidney Foundation honored him with the President?s Award in 1998, Garabed Eknoyan Award in 2002, and David W. Hume Award in 2012, and the American Society of Nephrology honored him with the Belding H. Scribner Award in 2013. He was inducted into the Association of American Physicians in 2016. The European Renal Association/European Dialysis and Transplant Association awarded him Honorary Membership in 2020. He has been recognized by Thomson Reuters and Clarivate as a highly cited researcher (top 1% most cited works in the field) yearly since 2014.