ASN's Mission

ASN leads the fight to prevent, treat, and cure kidney diseases throughout the world by educating health professionals and scientists, advancing research and innovation, communicating new knowledge, and advocating for the highest quality care for patients.

learn more

Contact ASN

1401 H St, NW, Ste 900, Washington, DC 20005


The Latest on Twitter

About ASN

Anupam Agarwal, MD, FASN, Past President

ASN Biography

Anupam Agarwal, MD, FASN is currently Director, Division of Nephrology, and Executive Vice Dean, School of Medicine at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). He also serves as the Program Director of the NIH/NIDDK funded O’Brien Center for Acute Kidney Injury Research. He has graduate faculty status in the Departments of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, Pathology and Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology at UAB.

Dr. Agarwal has an active role in clinical medicine, teaching, research and administration. He is intensively involved in the teaching of medical students, internal medicine house staff and nephrology fellows and has been a recipient of Outstanding Teaching Awards from the Department of Medicine at the University of Florida as well as at UAB. Dr. Agarwal’s research program, funded by the NIH and Department of Veterans Affairs, has provided critical insights regarding the protective nature and significance of heme oxygenase-1 (HO-1) in vascular and renal inflammation, angiogenesis, transplant biology, and the molecular regulation of the human HO-1 gene. His bibliography includes 157 peer-reviewed papers and 43 invited reviews/book chapters, the former appearing in journals such as the Journal of the American Society of Nephrology, Journal of Clinical Investigation, JCI Insight, Journal of Experimental Medicine, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Journal of Biological Chemistry, Circulation, Circulation Research, American Journal of Pathology as well as others.

He has been recognized by the Max Cooper award for excellence in research, the Thomas Andreoli Professorship in Nephrology, election to membership in the American Society of Clinical Investigation (ASCI), American Clinical and Climatological Association (ACCA), Association of American Physicians (AAP) the Marie S. Ingalls Endowed Chair in Nephrology leadership, a Dean’s Excellence award for leadership and the Graduate Dean’s Excellence in Mentorship award at UAB. He is the recipient of the UAB National Alumni Society Honorary Alumnus award and a Laureate Recipient for the Alabama Chapter of the American College of Physicians.

Dr. Agarwal has been invited to speak at national and international meetings including the Annual Gifford Symposium, American Society of Nephrology, International Society of Nephrology, International conferences on HO in Italy, Sweden and Krakow, Czech Republic, International Biometals Congress in Germany, Dutch Society of Nephrology, National Eye Institute and a state-of-the-art lecture at the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation. He has been invited to deliver several named presentations including the Craig Tisher lectureship, Mats Wahlstrom lectureship, Kirpal Chugh oration, Johnson McGuire lectureship, Paul Teschan lectureship, Phillip Liverman lectureship, Shaul Massry lectureship, Cunio Richardson lectureship and others. He has been recognized for his leadership by several awards including Young Investigator awards from the National Kidney Foundation, election to the Council of the Society for Free Radical Biology and Fellow of the American Heart Association’s Council on the Kidney in Cardiovascular Disease, his serving on national and international review panels and editorial boards of prestigious journals. Dr. Agarwal served in successive appointments as Interim Chair, Department of Medicine, UAB (2011-2012), and Interim Senior Vice President for Medicine and Dean for the School of Medicine, UAB (2013). Dr. Agarwal served as Chair, Organizing Committee for the 6th International Congress on Heme Oxygenases in 2009, and member of the Program Committee of the American Society of Nephrology (ASN) and served as the Chair of this committee for the 2013 Annual Meeting. He was elected to serve on the ASN council in 2014.