About ASN

Susan E. Quaggin, MD, FASN, Councilor

ASN Biography

Current Position/Titles

Charles Horace Mayo Professor of Medicine, Northwestern University; Chief, Division of Nephrology & Hypertension, Feinberg School of Medicine, Director, Feinberg Cardiovascular Research Institute, Northwestern University; President, Northwestern Medical Faculty Foundation Dialysis Center, Feinberg School of Medicine.


M.D., University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada, 1988; Internal Medicine Residency: University of Toronto, 1988-92; Chief Medical Resident, St. Michael's Hospital, U of T 1991-92; Nephrology Fellowship: University of Toronto & Yale University, 1992-1994; Research/Post-Doc Training: Yale University, 1993-1997; University of Toronto, Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute, Program in Developmental Biology 1997-1998.

ASN Service

Abstract Selection Committee Member, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003; Chairman, Abstract Selection Committee for Glomerular Disease, 2005, 2008; Chairman, Abstract Selection Committee for Blood and Lymphatic Development of the Kidney, 2015; Program Committee Annual Meeting Member, 2009, 2013; Chairman, Program Committee Annual Meeting, 2014; Education Committee Member, 2013-2015; Young Investigator Awards Committee Member, 2008; ASN Grants Review Committee Member, 2006; Associate Editor, JASN, 2008, 2009, 2010; Deputy Editor, JASN, 2011, 2012; JASN Editorial Board Member, 2013-current; ASN Foundation Campaign Cabinet Member, 2015-current.

Leadership Positions

ISN, Councilor, 2011-current; ISN, Executive Council Member, 2013-current; ASCI councilor, 2010-2013; Chair, International Podocyte Meeting, 2006; International Podocyte Meeting Scientific Committee Member, 2008-2014; ISN Nexus Committee Member, 2008-current; ISN Publications Committee Member, 2013-current; ISN Awards Committee Member, 2014; ISN WCN Scientific Program Committee Member, 2007, 2009; Vice-chair & Chair, Gordon Research Conference on Endothelial Phenotypes in Health and Disease, 2008-2012; Chair, Keystone Meeting, Diabetic Complications, 2014; Vice-chair & Chair, Kloster Seeon Angiogenesis Meeting, 2014-2018; International Vascular Biology Meeting Advisory Board, 2011-2012; Kidney Foundation of Canada Scientific Committee Standing Member, 2005-2010; CIHR, Study Section Committee Member, 2008, 2009; NIH, PBKD, Study Section Standing Member, 2015-current; Howard Hughes Investigator Grant Review Member, 2014; Scientific Advisory Board, Aerpio Therapeutics, 2014-current; Scientific Board of Governor's, Lowy Medical Research Institute (LMRI), 2013-current; Scientific Advisory Board, Diabetic Retinopathy Clinical Research Consortium, NIH, 2014-current; Scientific Advisory Board Member, Centre de Recherches Cardiovasculaire, Universite of Descartes, Paris, 2014-current; Editor, Current Opinion in Nephrology & Hypertension, 2007-current; Editor, Seldin and Geibisch, The Kidney, 2015-current; Editorial board member, JCI, 2010-current, Disease Models and Mechanisms, 2011-2014, AJKD, 2008-2011, Kidney International, 2015-current.


Elected to ASCI, 2006; Elected to AAP, 2013; ISN Alfred Newton Richards Award for Basic Science, 2013; Finnish Distinguished Professorship, 2012-2017; Kidney Foundation of Canada Medal for Research Excellence, 2009; Donald Seldin Lecture and Award, American Heart Association, Hypertension Council, 2012; Princesses' Lectureship, Victor Chang Cardiovascular Research Inst., Australia, 2013; W. Berliner Lectureship, Yale University, 2015; Ruth Abrahmson Visiting Lectureship, New York, 2015; Josh Thurman Visiting Lectureship, Denver, 2015; Andreoli Lectureship, University of Alabama, 2015; Phillip A. Liverman Distinguished Lectureship, University of Virginia, 2014; Tisher Visiting Professor of Nephrology, Florida, 2012; Gabor-Zellerman Endowed Professorship in Renal Medicine, Toronto, 2009-2012; Canada Research Chair in Vascular Biology, 2005-2010; Department of Medicine, Research Award, University of Toronto, 2009; William Goldie Prize in Internal Medicine, University of Toronto, 2005; The Lloyd S.D. Fogler, QC Award of Excellence, Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto, 2004; Premier's Research Excellence Award (PREA), Ontario, Canada, 2003; The Joe Doupe Canadian Society of Clinical Investigation Young Investigator Award, 2003.

Licensure and Board Certification

Medical License, Province of Ontario, Canada, 1988-current; Medical License, State of Illinois, U.S., 2013 -current; Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, Internal Medicine, FRCP(C), 1992; Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, Subspecialty Certificate in Nephrology, 1995.

Research Interests

The research program in my laboratory focuses on fundamental genetic pathways required to establish and maintain the integrity of the glomerular filtration barrier. To understand the interactions between key glomerular cells such as podocytes and endothelia, we have developed numerous genetic mouse models that probe cell and time-specific manipulation of functional genes. Translation of our findings regarding the glomerular filter reveals pathogenic mechanisms and new therapeutic targets for a number of kidney diseases, including diabetic nephropathy, nephrotic syndrome, thrombotic microangiopathies, and preeclampsia.

Personal Statement

My nomination for ASN Council comes at a promising time of many challenges but also great opportunities for advancing nephrology. I am a committed advocate for our patients and subspecialty, gaining extensive committee and leadership experience within ASN and beyond. If elected, I will work tirelessly to broaden the scope and quality of nephrology practice, fight for improvements to ABIM recertification, campaign for enhanced public and political awareness of nephrology, recommend innovations in training, and encourage translation of new discoveries to the clinic. The perspective I have on these issues is shaped by my life as a clinician and physician-scientist.