ASN's Mission

To create a world without kidney diseases, the ASN Alliance for Kidney Health elevates care by educating and informing, driving breakthroughs and innovation, and advocating for policies that create transformative changes in kidney medicine throughout the world.

learn more

Contact ASN

1401 H St, NW, Ste 900, Washington, DC 20005


The Latest on X

Grants & Funding

Karen L. Campbell, PhD, Travel Support Program for Fellows Application

Applications open on Wednesday, May 15, 2024. Application deadline: Wednesday, June 12, 2024, at 2:00 p.m. EDT.

The Karen L. Campbell, PhD, Travel Support Program for Fellows is awarded to nephrology fellows and PhD postdocs, and takes place at the Annual Meeting, held October 24-27, 2024, at ASN Kidney Week in San Diego, CA. Award recipients receive $1,500 in travel support, complimentary registration to the Annual Meeting, and the opportunity to mentor medical students, residents, or graduate students through the ASN Kidney STARS Program.

Please note this program is in person. By accepting a spot in this program, participants agree to abide by all Health and Safety protocols as set forth by ASN.

The program is named for former ASN Executive Director, Karen L. Campbell, PhD.

Support is intended for, but not restricted to, nephrology fellows beyond their first year of fellowship or postdoctoral training at the time of Kidney Week 2024.

In addition to this program, ASN offers travel support and complimentary registration to the Annual Meeting to five nephrology fellows in Central America, South America, or Spanish-speaking countries of North America, and three nephrology fellows from US and Canadian training programs who have experienced personal or family hardship that has affected the need for financial assistance as a part of the William E. Mitch, III, MD, FASN International Scholars Program. For more information on the William E. Mitch, III, MD, FASN International Scholars Program or to apply, please visit the Mitch program page.


To receive an award, a recipient must:

  1. Be a current ASN member (Fellow/Trainee Membership Type) as of July 1, 2024.
  2. Be enrolled in an accredited nephrology fellowship training program or conducting postdoctoral kidney research at the time of Kidney Week 2024.
  3. Agree to mentor a group of students or residents during ASN Kidney Week (details provided after acceptance).

Fellows are eligible for free ASN membership. For membership information, visit


To apply, a candidate must:

  1. Log into the application using an ASN ID.
  2. Complete the information section of the application, including demographics, training level, etc.
  3. Complete a 200-word essay.
  4. Upload a CV.

A CV must be submitted as part of the online application. Applications received without CVs will not be processed.

Deadline: Wednesday, June 12, 2024, at 2:00 p.m. EDT

NOTE: Travel support applicants may apply to any and all travel support opportunities (if eligible); however, only one award will be given per person. All applicants will be notified within seven weeks of the application deadline.

Questions? Email